The Novel in Disguise

tumblr_ob8cydVU4y1ummjd5o10_r1_1280

On Monday the final part of Legacy of Russ, my serialised Warhammer 40,000 novel, came out in digital format. It marks the end of four months of releases, and closes off a novel I wrote in the space of 43 days back in December and January 2015/16.

On the whole, responses seem to have been positive, and it certainly delights me to see the journey completed and my name splashed across the Black Library website’s homepage. Writing Legacy certainly wasn’t without its pitfalls. Yet perhaps the most long-lasting difficulty I associate with the book is how I personally view it. It occupies a curious half-ground on so many levels. On the one hand, it’s my first novel. Professionally paid or not, it’s undeniably the first 50,000+ word book I have ever had published. Yet it also isn’t really my first – like most writers, I already have a brace of novels completed but unpublished, waiting to see the light of day. In that sense I wrote my first novel seven years ago, and Legacy of Russ is merely my fourth. It’s like the first heir, with three older bastards preceding it (don’t tell Tory I said that).

And how much of a “real” novel is it anyway? Of course, none of us would claim the works of Dickens aren’t novels, and many of them were initially released in serial format, just like Legacy. To further cement its claim, it will indeed come out as a fully-fledged, physical, hardback, single volume sometime in the future. Undeniably a novel. And yet, as the writer I’m aware that I only wrote it half as a novel, and half with its initial episodic, serial release in mind. Do I personally think of it as a novel? Yes, but only in part. It’s a mongrel work, one that I love dearly in its own right, but not one that I think of as entirely as self-contained as, say, Carcharodons: Red Tithe.

These thoughts, of course are largely meaningless semantics. Even the purist inside me is more than happy to lay aside internal squabbling and enjoy the moment. That is until it remembers that I’ve still got half a short story, half a novel and a final set of PhD chapter 1 redrafts to do within the next two weeks. Better get back to it.

 

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “The Novel in Disguise

  1. Faxanadu è stato uno dei più grandi giochi del NES, purtroppo sempre sottovalutato dal grande pubblico.

  2. Stephen Ogilvie

    I really enjoyed your tale, and particularly your adherence the the background material something that upon occasion is seriously lacking from black library publications. I hope you are given the opportunity to develop a full series of space wolves novels because the collection of short stories was right up there with the books from Chris Wraight. Look forward to more rip roaring tales from the grim dark from you in the future.

    • Thanks for the kind words, I’m really glad you enjoyed it. Obviously I’m anxious to do the background material credit, and being likened to Chris Wraight’s excellent Wolf work is an honour indeed!

Leave a Reply

