Paper Vultures – A SITREP (Part 8)

Well-well-well, what ‘av we here? Only Paper Vultures episode 8, Past the Point of No ReMidterm! Yes, I’m more than halfway through University Year 4’s first semester, which means I should, should have just enough time to do a little bit of blogging before Essay Wave # 2 begins battering down the door and breaking in through the windows. And I just got them repaired after Wave # 1…

You may be forgiven for thinking that with the full-time troglodyte-student existence having reasserted itself the writing front would have been a quiet one of late. Not so citizens! Just this morning I got an email from Dr Faulkner, who regular readers will know is basically like the Professor X of my life – a masterful, benevolent yet distant character who occasionally appears to briefly bestow power and wisdom in equal measure, before returning to matters too great for my young history undergrad mind to comprehend. On this occasion he’s vetted the non-fiction article I submitted to Military History Monthly at the end of summer. To see the blessed changes his editorial acolytes have brought to my own writing warms the cockles of my apprentice-historian heart. Hopefully it’ll be hitting print in one of the the spring editions.

The second development I’ll have to be shamefully coy about, because the chances are nothing will come of it and speaking of it openly may jeopardise my hopes in the great cosmos of Random Luck Allocation. Suffice to say I was headhunted last month by someone who needs some writing done, and the only reason she found me was because of my online writing platform. See! It is important! Don’t skimp on that self-made Facebook fan page with the badly photoshopped header photo and the wannabe-author sepia profile picture! Seriously!

Thirdly, someone was recently very kind to me. Big woop you may say, but let it be known that that someone was in fact Anneque G. Malchien, a rather splendid writer, bloghost and podcaster. As we Scots say, gae check her oot! Not least of all because my first ever published work, Heavenbloom, was reviewed on her podcast last friday. It made me so happy I went and made a badly photoshopped sepia picture! I’m still blushing.

This makes me a real author, right?

Fourthly, Ironfang. Always Ironfang, right? It’s attracted some very helpful critiques on Scribophile and, even better, has brought a number of fellow-writerlings into the Robbie blogfold. Welcome! The water’s cold, it’s Scotland in November! Jump in anyway! Beyond the critting the 2nd draft is coming along swimmingly. With the essays sharpening their knives and loitering on my doorstep I may not quite get it finished by the year’s end, but I’m hoping the final drafts will be done before the buds bloom (which, this being the Frozen North, may be a very long time away indeed…).

Fifthy, congrats for reading this far! You’re a star! Here, have the last bit of news. Last week this rolled in through my door – the hard copy of the latest anthology featuring my work, The Black Wind’s Whispers. I may be biased, but this anthology’s cover art is my favourite – props to Mr Maneul Mesones for that hauntingly creepy young madam. ImageImage

That’s all for now, but fear thee notte – I’ll be sniffing around your blogs, writings, and fooling around in Scribophile aplenty until I next check in. Arrivederci! 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Paper Vultures – A SITREP (Part 8)

  1. Congrats on everything! Tis a splendid cover for the anthology

Leave a Reply

