TIP You’re It!

I woke up this morning to discover that I’d been tagged (or tipped, as we say in Scotland) for the first time in almost a decade. What’s more, it was in fact a cyber tag – what a wondrous age of modern technology we live in!

The tag-er is the lovely Ms Wynn-Nolet – if you want to blame her for this post, you can find her both here http://rhiannwynnnolet.blogspot.co.uk/ and here https://twitter.com/RhiannWynnNolet It’s not just any old game of online tag we’re playing either, oh no, it’s special GUTGAA tag! So it’s my turn to answer the tag writer questions, and then pick three unsuspecting victims –

What is the working title of your book?

Covenanted

Where did the idea come from for the book?

History! Seriously, it was a big mix of my love for the city I’m living in, Edinburgh, and the studying I was/am doing at the University of Edinburgh. I adore history, the 17th and 18th centuries, and when I came across the story a certain real-life Scots heroine (who shall remain nameless, for now…) in my textbooks I just knew I had to write a novel about her.

What genre does your book fall under?

Obviously its historical fiction, within that broad church it can sit in the pews of the thriller or the romance congregations, though I hear it slightly prefers the former to the latter.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Karen Gillan (of Doctor Who fame) would absolutely have to play the main female lead. We’re both from Inverness!

What is the one-sentence short synopsis of your book?

The year is 1637 and Scotland is a nation on the brink. The king is seeking to reform the church in defiance of the will of the people. In the midst of mounting tensions and civil unrest a common-born farm girl, finds herself catapulted by one breathtaking act of defiance from vegetable stall-seller to national heroine. In Edinburgh’s dank alleyways danger is her constant companion, brought on by the unrestrained zealousness of the revolutionaries she joins, the brutal reprisals of the royalists, the jealousy of her unwanted suitor, the Laird’s son, and her own passionate love for the treasonous young preacher who first drew her into the realms of intrigue. As war looms and the proud old nation tears itself in half she finds herself faced with the starkest of choices – will she save her family, or abandon her principles?

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

I’m going for agents at the moment. AgentQuary tells me there’s about 250 doing HistFic, so if I keep at it…

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

Six months almost on the dot, though I got a couple of unrelated short stories written and published in that time too.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

Love! Loss! Betrayal! Murder! Marriage! Riots in cathedrals! Battles! A painfully long journey by cart from Edinburgh to Aberdeen! What more could you ask of your historic fic?

Aaaaand TIP! Below are three new GUTGAA friends I’ve chosen to be my innocent and unsuspecting victims. Check ‘em out whilst I go off and get stuck into the GUTGAA synopsis-polish fest!

https://twitter.com/KatherineAmabel

http://www.2000words.biz/

http://rebeccaenzor.com/

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “TIP You’re It!

  1. Tessa Sheppard

    Your synopsis is great! Be sure to let us know when you get your book published, as I know it will. Hopefully you’ll find an agent fast. Best of luck!

  2. I can’t wait to read it! And I am so jealous that it only took you six months.

  3. Ooo, sounds like a wonderful story, Joan of Arc but sexier. Can’t wait to read it, it’s right up my alley (or I think you say “street” across the pond). Thanks for linking me up to your post 😉

  4. Your story sounds wonderful. I adore historicals based on real events, so I can’t wait to buy yours one day. 😀

Leave a Reply

